Events Calendar

Summer/Fall 2017

Date

Speaker

Topic / Title

Thursday, July 6 UI Fulbright Student-Awardees

“UI Fulbright Student-Awardees Discuss Their International Assignments”

Tuesday, July 11 Mandela Washington Fellows “Mandela Washington Fellows: Young Entrepreneurs Challenging the Political & Economic Status Quo in the Continent of Africa”
Thursday, August 24 Peter Damiano, DDS, Director, UI Public Policy Center; Professor, UI Preventive & Community Dentistry “Health Care – Lessons from Abroad”
Thursday, August 31 Hans House, MD, DTMH, Vice Chair for Education, UI Dep’t. of Emergency Medicine

“Avian Flu H7N9 and the Risk of the Next Great Pandemic”

Thursday, September 7 Jonathan Hollander, President, Artistic Director; Founder, Choreographer; Battery Dance, New York City

“Dancing to Connect”

Wednesday, September 13 Ted Powers, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, UI Department of Anthropology

“South Africa’s Health Programs; Successes Fighting AIDS”

Wednesday, September 20 Greg Carmichael, Professor, UI Chemical Engineering; Co-Director, Center for Global & Regional Environmental Research

“Current Environmental Challenges”

Sept. 26, 27, 28 International Writers Program speaker / TBA TBA
 Wednesday, October 4 Steve Schulz, Director, Global Talent Acquisition, Rockwell-Collins, Cedar Rapids “Travel Bans: Uncertainties and Real World  Consequences”
Thursday, October 12 Karen Wachsmuth, Ph.D., Associate Director, UI International Fellowships; Fulbright Program Advisor “Why the Japanese School Year Begins in Cherry Blossom Time”
Oct. 17, 18, 19 International Writers Program speaker / TBA

TBA

Oct. 24, 25, 26 Iowa UNA speaker / TBA

TBA

Tuesday, October 31 America Colmenares, Adjunct Lecturer, Spanish Dep’t., Augustana College

“Venezuela in Crisis”

 Wednesday, November 8 Elizabeth Menninga, Assistant Professor, UI Political Science Department

“Mediation to End Civil Wars: Assembling the Dream Team”

Nov. 14, 15, 16 TBA

TBA

Nov. 28, 29, 30 TBA

TBA

Wednesday, December 6 Mariano Magalhaes, Professor, Political Science, Augustana College; Elisa Klewinski, Political Science & Environmental Studies

“The Economic and Political Challenges Confronting Brazil”

Dec. 12, 13, 14 TBA

TBA